Canberra Camps, Settlements & Early Housing

Electoral Rolls

Creative Commons License
Canberra Camps, Settlements & Early Housing-Electoral Rolls by Ann Gugler is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at


I have transcribed a number of electoral rolls and placed people in alphabetical order under place/suburbs. In 1913 a census of those living in the area was made and in 1916 and 1917 electoral rolls were made to allow people to vote for or against conscription. The next electoral roll in the FCT was in 1928 - Liquor Ordinance - the vote to allow the sale of alcohol in the territory was YES.  In 1929 a head of household roll was made for people owning houses or leased land was made for election of Third Commisisoner.  These were followed with other rolls for election of members of the Advisory Committee. It was not until 1949 that the people of the ACT [changed in late 1930s from FCT to ACT] had their first representative in the House of Representatives in the Federal Parliament and some years before a Senate Representative. The first House of Reps local man was Dr LW Nott who lost the following election to Jim Fraser who remained our local man for many years to come. 

The rolls that I have transcribed are: 1916, 1917, 1928, 1929, 1935, 1943, 1949, 1955, 1955, 1959 and 1967.  These from 1929 are in the Hidden Canberra web and will not be repeated here. [A third site that has general information about Early Canberra also has information about the early years of the Federal Capital]

1916 - 1917 Electoral Rolls

FCT 1916 Electoral Roll

1917 Electoral Roll Acton & Ainslie

1917 Electoral Roll Cotter

1917 Electoral Roll Duntroon

1917 Roll Power House

1917 Electoral Roll Outside Canberra - This roll does not include Jervis Bay. The roll for this area is found in the section Outside the City  which includes as well as Jervis Bay, Oaks Estate and nearby freehold land in NSW of Environa.

1928 Electoral Roll A-B FCT

A reminder that not all residents in the FCT are on the roll. People who enrolled had to be 21 years of age or older and British or Australian nationaly.  Aboriginal people were excluded and there were a number of people who for whatever reason/s who were elligible who did not enrol.

1928 Acton

1928 Ainslie

1928 Barton

1928 Braddon

1928 Electoral Roll F-G

1928 Electoral Roll H-K

1928 Electoral Roll M-O

1935 Electoral Roll FCT

The Great Depression which officially began in 1929 after the Wall Street Crash in America began in Canberra shortly after the opening of the Provisional Parliament House on 9 May 1927.  Some construction work continued but slowed to a snail pace.  In 1929 things became worse and many men left in search of work. Others stayed.  The electoral roll reflects the changes in numbers.

1935 Acton

1935 Ainslie

1935 Barton

1935 Braddon

1935 Camps Canberra Civic Causeway

1935 Canberra

1935 Causeway

1935 Deakin - This file also includes Duntroon Forrest & Fyshwick

Forrest and Griffith

1935 Hotels Hostels